The SKI TEST – a.k.a. (dont) Ski Like Stein Erickson


Many people have asked about how good a skier you have to be to be on patrol. Like Stein Eriksen!  OK actually not like Stein, the skis and styles have evolved and his style no longer applies to modern carving skis where you need to have you feet shoulder width apart but he still looks bitchin!   When I was thinking of joining the patrol this was what I was worried about.  I thought you had to be a ski god, telemark master or ex US ski team member to get on the patrol but as I watched lots of patrollers ski by while on the chairlifts I realized that you don’t have to be any of the above classes (although it would help substantially i think).

To cut to the chase, most mountains require you to be PSIA level 3 to pull sleds on the green and blue runs. To pull sleds on the black runs or off piste you have to be PSIA level 4 (the scale goes 1-4 with 4 being the top).

What is level three?   Well if you aren’t familiar with it, I suggest you go to youtube and search on the keywords PSIA level 3 test and you will find lots of videos of ski gods doing a “perfect” example of what that should look like.  Basically its what I would call a good solid advanced skier with good technical form. Its not about speed or ability or ripping it up but mostly about shoulder position, hip rotation and proper edging.  These are not things that come naturally to any skier.  If you are considering joining a patrol, you NEED to take a lesson with a highly ranked PSIA instructor for an hour or two.  Their method is the standard on which you are tested so you need to learn it.  Being a good skier and just showing up isn’t  a good idea as there are specific skills they want you to demonstrate.

Our candidate class all went out together and skied two runs with a PSIA judge over two hours.  At certain stations on the hill he asked us to do a specific move and then sorted us into three groups when you got to the bottom.  The groups ended up being level 2, 3 and 4.  We then went to a different part of the hill and did a new skill with the same sorting at the bottom.  Our judge would stand at the bottom and hold his pole up in front of him as a reference point as he watched you ski.  He was looking for how calm the upper body was versus the lower body.

For level three, the most important variable I watched him critique was lower body rotation.  Imagine you have a line across your chest. at all times the line needs to be fully visible to the judge and not rotate left or right with the fists facing towards the judge (calm upper body) and the lower body doing all the rotating of the skis.  Most people ski with upper body rotation.  Frankly I do also.  Skiing with a calm upper body is not natural and takes serious effort but if you want to pass the test you have to learn this skill from someone who knows what they are talking about, not just your buddies. Most people did the “driving the bus” type of skiing where the shoulders rotate left or right with each turn (very bad).  The other important but easy skill is learning proper hand placement and pole plants.  This isn’t obvious and isn’t different but you need to have someone show you how its supposed to be done (in PSIA land) before you step up to your ski test.  So it might sound silly of me to tell you that you need to learn how to do pole plants but…. well…. you need to learn to do pole plants.  Low hanging fruit on the exam if someone shows you the right way before you go.  Plus bad pole plants set off a lot of other problems with shoulder rotation (or lack of rotation).  Pole plants are easy to learn and will improve everything else if done right.  Yes its learning to walk instead of run but its very important if you want to pass.

For the level three test the judge wanted calm upper body, proper pole plants, short radius S turns STRAIGHT down a steep fall line (no left and right movement), medium radius S turns with no shoulder rotation, falling leaf, side slipping while facing down the fall line with your hands on both sides, slipping backwards, skiing on one foot, hockey stops, etc.   For the jump to level four it requires all of the above to be very strong but also adds steep jump turns all the way down a fall line and proficiency in moguls.   When we took our test, it was early in the season so there were no moguls yet. We did our jump turns through a steep and iced over section of the hill.  If you aren’t centered over your skis, jump turns on ice will be very, very tricky!

I have plenty of friends who are GOOD skiers but wouldn’t know the first thing about the PSIA technicalities.  I would strongly encourage you to spend a few hours with a PSIA coach prior to your test.  You can easily be put into their form if you are a solid low advanced or above but you have to learn it before you show up.  It would be like learning to drive a stick shift car on the day of your driving test with your instructor in the passenger seat.  Learn a few blocks away the day before and show up to the test ready to demonstrate what you already know.  Dont learn on the spot and grind the gears while at your PSIA test!

The ski test is like an open book test.  You know the questions they will ask so you better have the answers done by practicing them before you show up.  I understand most hills will let a candidate take a lesson for free prior to the test so you just have to make the time.

So how did I do?  Out of 11 in my class who took the exam, 8 passed level 3 or above with myself and three others being awarded a level 4.  I don’t think my 4 was because i’m all that great of a skier.  I don’t fall into the ski god category, I’d classify myself as a solid advanced but nothing special.   I had experience 10 years ago with the PSIA system as a former instructor so I knew exactly what they were looking for and did my best not to ski like I would normally… but instead, like they wanted me to ski for those few runs. Basically I knew the questions they would ask so I practiced the answers a few times before the test.  I’d rather be smart than good… Now you know the answers as well so be sure to take a lesson or two before you show up for your test. It will help you tremendously.

But the REAL SKI TEST is the one that no one says out loud but was going through my mind as I watched my fellow candidates “drive the bus” with their shoulders.  Do you want to get in the back of the sled on a steep slope with them driving the sled????  I have to say, for most of them the answer is no.  There is a need to weed out weaker skiers.  Even if you can ski like Stein Erickson, you have to be able to stop yourself well before we add a sled that weighs 100+ pounds and me at 180 pounds for nearly 300 pounds to stop besides yourself.   If you are driving the bus and are not centered, stopping a fully loaded sled is going to be pretty hard.   Toboggan training is going to be interesting to say the least!  Now I need to learn how the alpinists use an ice axe to stop themselves from sliding down a glacier.  If I have to bail out of a sled, that skill might come in handy!!!  I’m guessing I’ll need something more substantial than a leatherman for friction!

 

About joinskipatrol

Chris is in his candidate year as rookie patroller in Southern California. While going through the OEC training he spent many a late night trying to find online resources about joining a ski patrol and came up short so he decided to share his experiences here so others might get interested and join the patrol also. If you find this helpful, please drop me a line. Good luck and hope you decide to sign up and go for the Patrol!

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. “…you need to have you feet shoulder width apart…”

    Sheesh. When are people going to stop repeating this very bad piece of advice? It’s as useless as the old knees-jammed-together technique that Stein used.

  2. Just to clarify, CSIA (CND) has 1-4. PSIA (USA) is 1-3. Most patrollers in the US with a little fine tuning would pass level 2. Very few would pass level 3 without significant effort. Not because they aren’t solid strong skiers, but because the goals of teaching and demonstrating national association standards are fairly different than those needed for big mountain patrolling.

    Cheers!

  3. It would be more appropriate to refer to the PSIA skier designations — not the instructor levels. The PSIA skier levels run from 1-10 with 1 being a complete beginner, to 10 being Bode Miller. Most patrollers are in the 6-8 range. A few in most large patrols are solid 9s. As the earlier commenter noted the instructor levels also factor teaching ability — not just skiing competence.

    Congratulations on your patroller status and excellent blog.

  4. This is an interesting read but you’ve got the PSIA levels confused. I seriously doubt most patrollers, paid or otherwise, could qualify for a PSIA Level 3 Alpine certification. Most could probably qualify at Level 1. A fair number could do Level 2.

    I doubt quite seriously that you were certified at Level 3 just from a skiing assessment by a PSIA instructor, coach or examiner. Many instructors whose skiing is technically sound struggle to get a Level 3 certification.

  5. John Norfleet

    I skied with Stein Eriksen and Frank Covino in the early 60s at Sugarbush Valley in Vermont. I remember when he cut the trail for “Steins Run”which was unusually wide for New England. It reminded him of the wide open slopes of his earlier days.
    Stein Eriksson is a Iconic skier and a true gentleman. We were just kids then but we were good and he allowed us to ski with him. We could keep up! He always skied FAST.One year I remember him doing flips and jump turns which was very special for the time,he was/is an amazing athlete.
    He is now and was then a very humble person.
    He was the most beautiful skier in the world. In my estimation, his reverse shoulder technique is iconic. True, the technic has been shelved. Matters not, he made it work.
    Himself and his technique are a thing of great beauty to behold. If you ever get a chance to see him ski you will never never forget him or his style. I was taught the same style and had to unlearn it in my years at Killington,Vt.
    It was because of Stein Ericsson and Frank Covino( my neighbour in Westport Ct.) that I later went on to teach at many ski areas in New England Including Sugarbush under Ziggy G.
    I later worked in Zermatt Switzerland, Stationed at “Roton” and remember skiing to work with my VR 17s in the early dawn hours. Every morning they open the lifts for us and we went to the top where we were served our breakfast. (Soup,bread,cheese).
    I loaded the dynamite on my backpack and started out to blow above the trails,so they would be free for all the days skiers. It was a very primitive system then we had no howitzers, it was light it and throw it.
    I skied with many legendary skiers of the era. And many many memories more not to bore you with.
    Cheers,Johnny

  6. Dear Friends
    I enjoyed your story about psi a training/ testing. It brought back memories of 1960s at Sugarbush with Stein.
    Stein Erickson was a lovely man, one of the greatest ever,just amazing style with that reverse shoulder. I spent many afternoons with him and Asst. Head of Skiing, Frank Covino Who was also my next-door neighbor in Westport Connecticut
    I remember Sugarbush building “Steins Run” because he wanted a slope to remind him of his homeland. But it never really worked, but he did enjoy the slope. It was a wide slope for the times,
    I took my son to the 2002 Olympics in Park city, I looked up Stein at Deer Valley and we reminisced about the old days in Vermont.
    I have so many memories of one of the greatest sports, Alpine Sking.
    My next-door neighbor was from Zermatt and her name was Suzy Perrin. I got a job as a ski pister avalanche patrol.
    I was a expert, but after my time in the Alps my level of skiing went through the stratosphere.
    Every morning I would ski to work in the dark to the lifts, where they would turn them on and six of us will go up to the summit and have breakfast inside a cement bunker under the whole lift structure ,then I would pack my knapsack with explosives, shoved into a dinty Moore style can, Cut a piece of fuse and stuffed that in and crimped the can closed. It was incredibly primitive. We would ski out to the dangerous areas and light the fuse and throw the can.
    We saved alot of people from serious danger. People would ski off of the piste which could be fatal.
    I have so many stories of the fun things that I did with the locals Which took me to places no one knew about. Skiing through ice caves
    under the glaciers with rivers running wild.

    I would highly recommend any skier to spend some serious time in the Alps. You can advance your game way beyond the PSIA regiment. The fellow that wrote above about the PSIA is just how I remember it. I guess it serves a purpose and I but I found it a little narrowminded, restrictive and One or two serious prima donnas . No offense intended .
    Three cheers… hip, hip, hooray!
    Yodel la he hoo… happy days to all your memories !!

Leave a comment